2 Free Issues and 3 Free Gifts!
Full Name:
Address 1:
Address 2:
City:
State:
Zip Code:
Email: (required)
If I like it and decide to continue, I'll pay just $12.00, and receive a full one-year subscription (9 issues in all), a 73% savings off the newsstand price! If for any reason I decide not to continue, I'll write "cancel" on the invoice and owe nothing.
Your subscription includes 3 FREE downloadable booklets.
Or click here to pay now and get 2 extra issues
Offer valid in US only.

» Welcome Guest
[ Log In :: Register ]

[ Track This Topic :: Email This Topic :: Print this topic ]

reply to topic new topic new poll
Topic: Food question, Food question< Next Oldest | Next Newest >
 Post Number: 1
gtacs Search for posts by this member.

Group: Members
PostIcon Posted on: Apr. 17 2013, 6:10 pm  Skip to the next post in this topic. Ignore posts   QUOTE

I am a hiking newbie.  I've done plenty of day hikes but no over-nights.  I've been reading allot about food to take on over-night hikes, and have been wondering why nobody takes  Meals-Ready-to-Eat (MREs). When taken out of the packaging the MREs are a good source of calories, and don't appear to weigh a whole lot (I am buying a scale to get exact weights).  The best part of it to seems to be you don't need to buy/carry any cooking pots because the MREs come with a pouch to cook the entrees in and you eat them right out of the bags the food is in.  Is there something I am missing as to why the MREs are a bad idea?

Any help is greatly appreciated
Top of Page Profile Contact Info 
 Post Number: 2
TDale Search for posts by this member.

PostIcon Posted on: Apr. 17 2013, 6:16 pm Skip to the previous post in this topic. Skip to the next post in this topic. Ignore posts   QUOTE

They're heavy and taste like [censored]

--------------