2 Free Issues and 3 Free Gifts!
Full Name:
Address 1:
Address 2:
City:
State:
Zip Code:
Email: (required)
If I like it and decide to continue, I'll pay just $12.00, and receive a full one-year subscription (9 issues in all), a 73% savings off the newsstand price! If for any reason I decide not to continue, I'll write "cancel" on the invoice and owe nothing.
Your subscription includes 3 FREE downloadable booklets.
Or click here to pay now and get 2 extra issues
Offer valid in US only.

» Welcome Guest
[ Log In :: Register ]

[ Track This Topic :: Email This Topic :: Print this topic ]

reply to topic new topic new poll
Topic: Noob about to hike the Grand Canyon, South-North< Next Oldest | Next Newest >
 Post Number: 1
moespeeds Search for posts by this member.

Group: Members
PostIcon Posted on: Sep. 12 2012, 5:26 pm  Skip to the next post in this topic. Ignore posts   QUOTE

Hi guys, this is my first post so I'll throw a little intro in as well. My name is Moe and I'm totally new to backpacking, though I spent 6 years in the Marines with a unit specializing in mountain warfare. At the end of the month I'm flying out to AZ to spend a week hiking the Grand Canyon, South Rim to North Rim. It's been on my bucket list, and I got a last min invite from a group for me and my girlfriend so despite not being fully prepared we jumped on it. Just today I finished assembling gear, and am currently fine tuning my gear and testing my pack. My buddies are swearing they are going to get their total gear load down to 25 lbs or less, though I'm struggling with it. My pack, minus water, is currently at 37 lbs, and my gf is at 32 lbs. I have scrutinized everything, to the point of throwing every piece of gear on a postage scale to give it a weight/necessity value, and other than pushing my food supply, I just can't shave any more weight. I already dumped our heavy bags and mats for lighter gear (old ones were 10lbs total, new ones down to 3.5 total). Tent is about 3 lbs each. Minimal c