2 Free Issues and 3 Free Gifts!
Full Name:
Address 1:
Address 2:
City:
State:
Zip Code:
Email: (required)
If I like it and decide to continue, I'll pay just $12.00, and receive a full one-year subscription (9 issues in all), a 73% savings off the newsstand price! If for any reason I decide not to continue, I'll write "cancel" on the invoice and owe nothing.
Your subscription includes 3 FREE downloadable booklets.
Or click here to pay now and get 2 extra issues
Offer valid in US only.

» Welcome Guest
[ Log In :: Register ]

[ Track This Topic :: Email This Topic :: Print this topic ]

reply to topic new topic new poll
Topic: Backpack Training Gear, New to backpacking< Next Oldest | Next Newest >
 Post Number: 1
chabian Search for posts by this member.

Group: Members
PostIcon Posted on: Nov. 01 2012, 3:56 pm  Skip to the next post in this topic. Ignore posts   QUOTE

Hi everyone:

I am new to backpacking and am currently training to go on my 1st backpacking trip next month. Right now, I am walking up to 5 miles a day with my backpack on and some random weights thrown in there. What do the rest of you veterans do when training to go on a hike? Do you just load up the pack with free weights or all of your real gear? The problem with that, is that I wear those clothes a lot and my tent is a good one and I don't want to have a lot of wear and tear on it during the training period. Any advice is appreciated.
Top of Page Profile Contact Info 
 Post Number: 2
Tigger Search for posts by this member.
Woods Pouncer

PostIcon Posted on: Nov. 01 2012, 4:17 pm Skip to the previous post in this topic. Skip to the next post in this topic. Ignore posts   QUOTE

Strengthen your core and your legs. Those will be the two primary muscle groups used hiking.

In regards to preparing for a hike, I prepare my mind more than anything else.

--------------
If I'm going to be lost, in the woods is where I want to be...
Top of Page Profile Contact Info WEB 
 Post Number: 3