2 Free Issues and 3 Free Gifts!
Full Name:
Address 1:
Address 2:
City:
State:
Zip Code:
Email: (required)
If I like it and decide to continue, I'll pay just $12.00, and receive a full one-year subscription (9 issues in all), a 73% savings off the newsstand price! If for any reason I decide not to continue, I'll write "cancel" on the invoice and owe nothing.
Your subscription includes 3 FREE downloadable booklets.
Or click here to pay now and get 2 extra issues
Offer valid in US only.

» Welcome Guest
[ Log In :: Register ]

[ Track This Topic :: Email This Topic :: Print this topic ]

reply to topic new topic new poll
Topic: Sleeping bag opinions< Next Oldest | Next Newest >
 Post Number: 1
Fester Search for posts by this member.

Group: Members
PostIcon Posted on: Dec. 26 2012, 12:42 am  Skip to the next post in this topic. Ignore posts   QUOTE

This one may be a can of worms, but I would like some opinions, so here goes. . . . .

I am just getting into hiking, buying some gear here and there, working out to get in better shape, ect. . . and I made the mistake of looking at sleeping bags the other day, oppps ! Lol

Here is my question, I am a big boy at 6'2" tall, 290 lbs (right now, working on that) 40" waist and 54" chest, I am a stomach sleeper, with one knee bent as a kickstand ( as my wife describes it).

I am looking for a three season ( at most) bag, as most all of my hiking / camping will be from late April to late August in the Grand Canyon and Rocky Mountain National Park areas, maybe Yellowstone too.

Because of how I sleep, I do not think a mummy bag will work, but if someone knows of one that will work for me, please speak up! Other ideas?

The back pack I am looking at is a Kelty Trekker 65 full frame, as I like the ability to lash stuff to the frame, giving me more room, so to speak. The tent I bought is a Mountain Hardwear Drifter 2 Person tent, and will be used by just me.