2 Free Issues and 3 Free Gifts!
Full Name:
Address 1:
Address 2:
City:
State:
Zip Code:
Email: (required)
If I like it and decide to continue, I'll pay just $12.00, and receive a full one-year subscription (9 issues in all), a 73% savings off the newsstand price! If for any reason I decide not to continue, I'll write "cancel" on the invoice and owe nothing.
Your subscription includes 3 FREE downloadable booklets.
Or click here to pay now and get 2 extra issues
Offer valid in US only.

» Welcome Guest
[ Log In :: Register ]

[ Track This Topic :: Email This Topic :: Print this topic ]

reply to topic new topic new poll
Topic: New to backpackin, Need some advise on what to buy< Next Oldest | Next Newest >
 Post Number: 1
TomC103 Search for posts by this member.

Group: Members
PostIcon Posted on: Jan. 21 2013, 11:57 am  Skip to the next post in this topic. Ignore posts   QUOTE

Hi everybody I'm new to backpacking and to the forum and I would like some advise on what to buy for backpacking. I live in the uk.

This is the gear I have at the moment:

2-3 season synthetic sleeping bag 1900g
2 man tent 2000g
Cheap 40 litre backpack 1300g
Chinese pocket rocket knock off
Cheap torch
Swiss Army knife
Closed cell foam sleeping bag

What other gear do I need or what gear needs upgrading? I don't have loads of money to spend. Thanks for the help
Tom
Top of Page Profile Contact Info 
 Post Number: 2
SW Mtn backpacker Search for posts by this member.
Born to hike, forced to work ...

PostIcon Posted on: Jan. 21 2013, 12:19 pm Skip to the previous post in this topic. Skip to the next post in this topic. Ignore posts   QUOTE

It helps to keep things simple, especially for 3-season hiking in regular weather (note: winter will likely require more complicated choices).