2 Free Issues and 3 Free Gifts!
Full Name:
Address 1:
Address 2:
City:
State:
Zip Code:
Email: (required)
If I like it and decide to continue, I'll pay just $12.00, and receive a full one-year subscription (9 issues in all), a 73% savings off the newsstand price! If for any reason I decide not to continue, I'll write "cancel" on the invoice and owe nothing.
Your subscription includes 3 FREE downloadable booklets.
Or click here to pay now and get 2 extra issues
Offer valid in US only.

» Welcome Guest
[ Log In :: Register ]

[ Track This Topic :: Email This Topic :: Print this topic ]

reply to topic new topic new poll
Topic: trekking pole, can I get away with this?< Next Oldest | Next Newest >
 Post Number: 1
hekeim Search for posts by this member.

Group: Members
PostIcon Posted on: Apr. 29 2013, 10:01 pm  Skip to the next post in this topic. Ignore posts   QUOTE

To start off, I'm an aspiring newbie.  I'm in the planning stages of taking my first backpacking trip(s) in July to the winds in Wyoming.  

Everything I've read in preparation is telling me that I need a trekking pole.  Being ignorant and cheap, I've found an old aluminum cross country skiing pole in my garage that was left by a previous tenant that I'm wanting to use.  The main reason for this is that I'm new to this.  I don't even know if I'm going to like backpacking enough to go again.  I'd hate to spend good money on an expensive pole that I may end up using once (though everything tells me that I won't).

Can/should I use an old ski pole as a trekking pole?
Top of Page Profile Contact Info 
 Post Number: 2
eric1981 Search for posts by this member.

PostIcon Posted on: Apr. 29 2013, 10:08 pm Skip to the previous post in this topic. Skip to the next post in this topic. Ignore posts   QUOTE

Practice hike?
 Post Number: 3
SWest Search for posts by this member.
No And Then!