2 Free Issues and 3 Free Gifts!
Full Name:
Address 1:
Address 2:
City:
State:
Zip Code:
Email: (required)
If I like it and decide to continue, I'll pay just $12.00, and receive a full one-year subscription (9 issues in all), a 73% savings off the newsstand price! If for any reason I decide not to continue, I'll write "cancel" on the invoice and owe nothing.
Your subscription includes 3 FREE downloadable booklets.
Or click here to pay now and get 2 extra issues
Offer valid in US only.

» Welcome Guest
[ Log In :: Register ]

[ Track This Topic :: Email This Topic :: Print this topic ]

reply to topic new topic new poll
Topic: Getting In Shape for a long hike< Next Oldest | Next Newest >
 Post Number: 1
RyLo83 Search for posts by this member.

Group: Members
PostIcon Posted on: Jul. 31 2012, 10:06 pm  Skip to the next post in this topic. Ignore posts   QUOTE

I am a novice in every sense of the word. I have planned a 165 mile thru hike on the Ozark Highlands Trail in about 10 months. I have done a little back packing, a few 8-10 mile overnight trips. I am in better shape than I was when I did those hikes but I need to get in optimal shape. Anybody got a good regimen or any tips for getting trail ready? I know I need to do some smaller hikes in between now and then. I would like to do a couple miles as often as possible with some weight on my back. Anybody know of a good way to simulate the weight of a pack without actually having a pack. Would just throwing 25 or so pounds worth of books in a regular back pack suffice? Any tips you have would be appreciated.
Top of Page Profile Contact Info 
 Post Number: 2
Three Search for posts by this member.

PostIcon Posted on: Jul. 31 2012, 11:01 pm Skip to the previous post in this topic. Skip to the next post in this topic. Ignore posts   QUOTE

(RyLo83 @ Jul. 31 2012, 10:06 pm)